Privilege in Academia: An Extended Note

A slightly extended version of my earlier post today for collaborative history blog, The Dustbin of History.

The Dustbin of History

Today, while scrolling down my Facebook newsfeed, I spotted a post by Third Level Workplace Watch about a storify on what it means to be from a less well-off background today in academia being done by Caroline Magennis. Reading the storify, I had to add my own small contribution:

Reading each and every response – some angry, some witty, most staunchly determined – has made me think of my own position within academia and my relationship to it. Not that I haven’t done this on many occasions among friends suffering the same anxieties, the same sense of not quite belonging. It’s a question of economics of course, but at some point the economic and the cultural bleed together.

My time as a PhD…

View original post 1,111 more words

Leave a Reply

